Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations
Tait to captain Scotland in Six Nations Under-20s

Tait to captain Scotland in Six Nations Under-20s

Tait to captain Scotland in Six Nations Under-20s

Rhys Tait will captain Scotland in the Six Nations Under-20s after head coach Kenny Murray announced a 30-man squad for the upcoming Championship.

Tait played in all five of Scotland’s 2021 Championship matches and will likely lead Scotland in their opening game against England on February 4.

Other familiar names include Christian Townsend, Duncan Munn and Euan Cunningham.

The 2022 Six Nations Under-20s marks Murray’s first campaign in charge after starting his new role as head of player transition earlier this month.

Following their home game against England at The DAM Stadium, Scotland travel to Wales in Round 2 before the first rest week.

“Having just stepped into this role I have been impressed by the players commitment intensity and skill-set during our camp this week,” Murray said.

“I watched a lot of the FOSROC Super6 last year and have had the chance to work with some of these players in the Glasgow Warriors setting already, so I know what they are capable of.

“The squad had a difficult time down in Cardiff last year, although it was challenging for them it does mean that 14 players now have the experience and knowledge of playing international rugby and they know how to better prepare for what is to come this year.”

Scotland Squad for 2022 Six Nations Under-20s:

Mikey Jones* (Heriot’s Rugby / Edinburgh Rugby)
Tom Banatvala (Durham University)
Ali Rogers** (Glasgow Hawks)
Callum Norrie** (Strathallan School)
Olly Frostick (Ealing Trailfinders/Henly Hawks)
Gregor Hiddleston (GHA)
Patrick Harrison* (Edinburgh Rugby)
Duncan Hood (Bath University)
Max Williamson* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
Josh Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders)
Jake Spurway (Durham University)
Tim Brown (Glasgow Hawks)
Rhys Tait* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN
Innes Hill (Ealing Trailfinders)
Olujare Oguntibeju (Ealing Trailfinders)
Matt Deehan (Newcastle Falcons)
Ollie Leatherbarrow (Exeter University)

Murray Redpath (Newcastle University)
Jonty Cope (Durham University)
Jed Gelderbloom (Edinburgh Rugby)
Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls/Glasgow Warriors)
Euan Cunningham* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
Duncan Munn** (Boroughmuir Bears)
Mike Gray* (Boroughmuir Bears/Glasgow Warriors)
Ben Salmon** (Stirling Wolves)
Andy Stirrat** (GHA)
Ross McKnight* (Stirling County/Glasgow Warriors)
Ben Evans* (Heriot’s Rugby/Edinburgh Rugby)
Ollie Melville (Newcastle University)
Robin McLintock (Montpellier)

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby Contracted Academy Player
**FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Academy Player