Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations
Hayward has high expectations for Wales Under-20s

Hayward has high expectations for Wales Under-20s

Hayward has high expectations for Wales Under-20s

Byron Hayward expects Wales to take a big step forward in the 2022 Six Nations Under-20s after naming his 38-man squad.

Front rows Connor Chapman, Efan Daniel and Nathan Evans return alongside locks Dafydd Jenkins and Joe Peard, while back row Alex Mann retains the captaincy after leading Wales to victory over Italy and Scotland in last year’s Championship.

In the backs, scrum half Harri Williams along with midfield trio Joe Hawkins, Eddie James and Tom Florence also return for a second campaign.

“They’ll be massive because that second year, and not just from a playing point of view, but from a maturity point of view as well, is massive,” Hayward said.

“There’s quite a big allocation coming back and we’ll be looking to those boys to step up which they already have done, in fairness.

“Our expectations are to go out and win every game we play, and I cannot see any reason why we can’t do that with the talent we have.”

Wales open their campaign away to Ireland on Friday 4 February, before welcoming Scotland to Parc Eirias a week later.

They then travel across the River Severn to tackle England in Round 3, before finishing off with home games against France and Italy.

Wales U20 Six Nations squad:

Rhys Barratt (Cardiff Rugby)
Cameron Jones (Ospreys)
Joe Cowell (Cardiff Met)
Connor Chapman (Dragons)
Efan Daniel (Cardiff Rugby)
Morgan Veness (Ealing Trailfinders)
Lewis Morgan (Scarlets)
Nathan Evans (Cardiff Rugby)
Ellis Fackrell (Ospreys)
Adam Williams (Dragons)
Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs)
Alexander Ashton (Cardiff University)
Joe Peard (Dragons)
Lewis Jones (Ospreys)
Benji Williams    (Ospreys)
Alex Mann (Cardiff Rugby – CAPT)
Ryan Woodman (Dragons)
Tom Cowan (Bath)
Ethan Fackrell (Cardiff
Morgan Morse (Ospreys)
Ben Moa (Dragons)

Harri Williams (Scarlets)
Morgan Lloyd (Dragons)
Harvey  Nash (Ospreys)
Jac Lloyd (Bristol Bears)
Daniel   Edwards (Ospreys)
Josh Phillips (Scarlets)
Joe Hawkins (Ospreys)
Eddie James (Scarlets)
Bryn Bradley (Harlequins)
Callum  Dodd (Ospreys)
Tom Florence (Ospreys)
Oli Andrew (Dragons)
Joshua Hathaway (Scarlets)
Harri Houston (Ospreys)
Cameron Winnett (Cardiff Rugby)
Iestyn Hopkins (Ospreys)
Joe Westwood (Dragons)