Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations
France name extended squad for Six Nations Under-20s

France name extended squad for Six Nations Under-20s

Théo Ntamack France Under-20s

France have named a squad of 45 players to prepare for the Under-20s Six Nations and a training camp in Marcoussis.

The squad, which features the likes of back-rower Théo Ntamack, younger brother of Romain, and Hugo Auradou, whose father David was a mainstay in the French teams of the 1990s, will spend four days in camp.

The coaching staff will then reduce the squad to 26 for a second camp in Aubagne before heading to Mont-de-Marsan for the opening game of the Championship against Italy.

Les Bleuets had originally been scheduled for a training camp in Italy as well as a warm-up match but have had to rearrange their plans due to Covid.

The France Under-20s manager Jean-Marc Béderède explained: “To explain the context, we’re coming off the back of the cancelled training camp that would have allowed us to call up more players to see them working together.

“We have a decision to make with a target in the short-term and a clear objective, to prepare for the Six Nations. This will allow as many players as possible to spend time in a high-level environment while building teams that are both coherent and perform well. We know have to build a coherent squad that can meet these two objectives.”

France finished second in the 2021 Under-20s Six Nations, losing only to eventual champions England in a game where they led 19-3 at half-time.

Ntamack is one of a number of players who will return from that squad, along with the likes of Montpellier fly-half Louis Foursans and highly-rated Agen centre Emilien Gailleton.

France squad for the Under-20s Six Nations

Hugo Auradou, Max Auriac, Léo Banos, Léo Barré, Robin Bellemand, Enzo Benmegal, Axel Bévia, Louis Bielle-Biarrey, Benjamin Boudou, Esteban Capilla, Thomas Cretu, Emile Dayral, Nicolas Depoortere, Matteo Desjeux, Robin Dione, Yahnis El Maslouhi, Aubin Eymeri, Louis Foursans, Emilien Gailleton, Matéo Garcia, Théo Giral, Nathan Huguen, Baptiste Jauneau, Jefferson Joseph, Louis Le Brun, Lucas Martin, Samuel Mezaache, Victor Montgaillard, Thomas Moukoro, Théo Ntamack, Marvin Okuya, Louis Penverne, Matis Perchaud, Raphael Portat, Ethan Randle, Enzo Reybier, Liam Rimet, Connor Sa, Hugo Sarrasin, Valentin Simutoga, Malohi Suta, Logan Tabet, Killian Tixeront, Mathieu Uhila, Elliot Yemsi