Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations
Boyle’s back for Scotland Under-20s

Boyle’s back for Scotland Under-20s

Boyle’s back for Scotland Under-20s


  • Connor Boyle captained Scotland in the 2019 Under-20s Six Nations
  • Scotland open their 2020 campaign against Ireland

Connor Boyle is one of 11 players recalled for Scotland’s Under-20s Six Nations campaign, with head coach Sean Lineen blending experience and new blood in his 29-man training squad.

Boyle captained Scotland in the 2019 Championship and scored tries against Italy, Ireland and Wales.

Heriot’s Rugby’s Jack Blain also returns after scoring two tries last year, while there are first call-ups for the likes of Archie Smeaton and Ewan Ashman who both came through the Scottish Qualified programme.

Lineen said: “We have selected a good group of players, some of whom were involved in last year’s programme and we’re excited to see them progress along with the new additions.

“This is an important year for the U20 squad and after some good preparations, where we will play two FOSROC Super6 sides in Watsonians Rugby and Ayrshire Bulls in planned sessions, the boys will be ready to face Ireland in the Six Nations opener at the end of January.

“There will still be opportunities to add to the squad throughout January for a number of players who are currently out injured and who impress the coaching staff ahead of the tournament.”

Scotland open their 2020 campaign away to Ireland in the first match of the Under-20s Six Nations, before hosting England in Edinburgh a week later.

In Round 3 they travel to Italy, before finishing off with a home game against France and a Round 5 trip to Wales.


Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks)
Connor Boyle (Watsonian Rugby)
George Breese (Stirling Wolves)
Gregor Brown (Boroughmuir Bears)
Jamie Campbell (Biggar)
Dan Gamble (Heriot’s Rugby)
Rory Darge (Southern Knights)
Cameron Henderson (Stirling County)
Jack Hill (Durham University)
Rory Jackson (Ayrshire Bulls)
Rory Jackson (Watsonians Rugby)
Thomas Jeffrey (Jed Forest)
Alex Maxwell (Stourbridge RFC)
Cairn Ramsay (Currie Chieftains)
Robbie Simpson (Edinburgh Academicals)
Archie Smeaton (Cambridge University)


Jack Blain (Heriot’s Rugby)
Nathan Chamberlain (Hartpury College/Bristol Bears)
Matthew Currie (Watsonians Rugby)
Roan Frostwick (Watsonians Rugby)
Callum Grieve (Newcastle University)
Jacob Henry (Southern Knights)
Scott King (Heriot’s Rugby)
Robbie McCallum (Boroughmuir Bears)
Kyle McGhie (Boroughmuir Bears)
Rufus McLean (Boroughmuir Bears)
Scott Robeson (Heriot’s Rugby)
Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir Bears)
Ollie Smith (Ayrshire Bulls)