Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Six Nations
Two Ireland changes for trip to Italy

Two Ireland changes for trip to Italy

Two Ireland changes for trip to Italy

Ireland Under-20s head coach Noel McNamara has made two changes to his squad ahead of their trip to Italy.

Ireland, who are the only team in the Championship to have won both of their opening games, will face Italy in Rieti on Friday for Round Three.

Scrum-half Craig Casey, who missed the Scotland match through injury, returns to the team to partner Harry Byrne as the other half-back.

The other change sees the fit-again Angus Kernohan take his spot on the right wing having played for Ulster in their Guinness PRO14 win over Ospreys last weekend.

The rest of the starting XV remains unchanged and McNamara will be wary of the Italian threat as he attempts to keep his team at the top of the Championship table.

“We’re pleased to have won our opening two games, but the players are ambitious and they are constantly looking for improvements in their performance, both individually and collectively,” said McNamara.

“Our previous meetings with Italy have been really challenging encounters, with only one score separating the sides in our past number of games.

“The down week allowed for the players to get some good recovery in as well as reviewing the Scotland game and looking ahead to this weekend.

“We had a really positive session with the Ireland senior side last Friday at the Aviva Stadium, so the players are now looking forward to getting back into the green jersey on Friday night in Rieti.”

Ireland Under-20s v Italy Under-20s, Stadio Centro d’Italia, Rieti, Friday February 22, KO 7pm

15. Jake Flannery
14.Angus Kernohan
13. Liam Turner
12. David Hawkshaw
11. Jonathan Wren
10. Harry Byrne
9. Craig Casey
1. Josh Wycherley
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin
3. Thomas Clarkson
4. Charlie Ryan
5. Niall Murray
6. Martin Moloney
7. Scott Penny
8. John Hodnett


16. Billy Scannell
17.Callum Reid
18. Michael Milne
19. Brian Deeny
20. Ronan Watters
21. Cormac Foley
22. Ben Healy
23. Rob Russell